FB 23010, Primary metallurgy

A research block (FB) within Jernkontoret’s technical area 23, Metallurgy.

Committee Chairperson

Gunnar Lindstrand, Outokumpu Stainless AB, Avesta

Vice chairperson

David Lindström, SSAB Special Steels AB, Oxelösund

Research Manager

Christer Ryman, Jernkontoret

Member companies

ABB AB, Västerås
Alleima AB, Sandviken
Carbomax AB, Västerås
Höganäs Sweden AB, Halmstad
LKAB AB, Luleå
Outokumpu Stainless AB, Avesta
Ovako Bar AB, Smedjebacken
Ovako Imatra Oy Ab, Imatra
Ovako Sweden AB, Hofors
SSAB Europe AB, Luleå
SSAB Europe Oy, Brahestad
SSAB Special Steels AB, Oxelösund
Uddeholms AB, Hagfors

Co-opted members

KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm
Luleå University of Technology, Luleå 
Swerim AB, Luleå

Purpose and general orientation 

This research block monitors developments in the area of scrap, scrap handling, electric arc furnace technology and its metallurgy, up to and including tapping into ladle.

  • Blast furnance
  • Scrap handling
  • Metal scrap and its quality
  • Electric arc furnace
  • Process control
  • Energy savings
  • Sustainability